Faculty Association Meeting Minutes Thursday, April 30, 2009 WCC

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 3:19 p.m. by the Chair.

II. Approval of Consent Agenda

Consent agenda (January 15 minutes and April 30 treasury report) was unanimously approved.

III. Informational Items

<u>Standing Committees reports and LCSC 3rd Annual Research Symposium Schedule Information</u> (both attached to the agenda)

IV. New Business

Graduation List – unanimously approved.

Candidate Slate & Faculty Association Election

<u>Professor Emeritus</u>: John Haehl, Rita McAdoo, and Carl Brood nominated and approved. Mike Vernon approved at previous Faculty Association meeting.

General Education Committee: Jocelyn Parkhurst approved.

Faculty Chair-Elect: Harold Crook approved.

<u>Standing Tenure and Promotion Review Committee</u>: Susan Odom approved for Chair and Chris Norden for committee member.

<u>Standing Promotion Review Committee</u>: Rhonda Combs approved for Chair, Don Heath-Simpson for Full Professor committee member, and Teresa Sadorus for Assistant Professor committee member.

Faculty Senate/Association Chair: Joni Mina confirmed.

Faculty Senate/Association Secretary: Nan Miguel confirmed.

<u>Faculty Senate/Association Webmaster</u>: Lynne Bidwell confirmed.

Faculty Senate/Association Secretary and Webmaster stipends: Confirmed.

<u>General Education Goals</u>: Larry Haapanen conducted a straw poll regarding wellness and/or technology as part of the General Education Core. The poll was as guidance only and not binding. Collected and not counted at the meeting.

V. Good of the Order

Thanks were extended to Joni Mina, Lynne Bidwell, and Debbie Goodwin for their service to the Faculty Senate and Association for 2008-2009. Thanks were also extended to Brian Christenson for his service this year.

Congratulations were extended to those receiving promotion/tenure this year. The meeting was followed by an all-campus recognition and announcement meeting.

VI. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 3:43 p.m. by the Chair.