Faculty Association Meeting Minutes Thursday, May 3, 2007 WCC

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 3:17 p.m. by the Chair.

II. Approval of Minutes

Minutes from the March 29, 2007, Association meeting were unanimously approved.

III. <u>Informational Items and Requests</u>

Margaret Chavez – received promotion and tenure this year.

PACE - the program received a national award from the UCEA.

<u>Reception</u> – thanks were extended to Lynne Bidwell for hosting the Faculty social.

Bookstore – caps and gowns are to be returned directly after commencement.

IV. Treasury Report

Faculty Senate Appropriated Account: \$2,890.25

Faculty Association Account: \$4,267.10

Faculty Benevolence Account: \$2,613.15

The report was unanimously approved.

V. New Business

- A. <u>Administrative Procedures Committee (APC)</u> structure changes (see attached) were passed by the Senate and approved by Faculty Association.
- B. <u>Hearing Board</u> election of one member: Cliff Matousek Education. Approved.
- C. <u>STPRC</u> election of several members (see attached): Tom Urquhart Natural Sciences (agreed to chair), Michelle Sotka Business, and Cheryl Jurgens Social Work. Approved. <u>SPRC</u> election of several members (see attached): Jim Bowen, Full Professor Business Technology & Service, Erick Cummings, Associate Professor Technical & Industrial (agreed to chair again), and Janice Raykovich, Assistant Professor Business Technology & Service. Approved.

- D. <u>Professor Emeritus</u> two nominations: Dave Thiessen and Jerry Jolley. Approved.
- E. <u>2007 Graduates</u> approved the 2007 list of graduates.
- F. <u>Honoraria</u> approved \$400 for the Senate Webmaster and \$500 for the Senate Secretary.
- G. <u>Faculty Association Chair-Elect</u> approved Brian Christenson to serve as Chair-Elect.

VI. Good of the Order

Recognized Leanne Parker for her two years of leadership and service to the faculty as Chair of the Faculty Senate.

VII. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m. by the Chair.

- B. Student Affairs Committee.
 - 1. Function. The responsibilities are to:
 - a. be responsible for recommending college policy and monitoring implementation thereof in areas related to student life and student affairs, including but not limited to: student financial aid, housing, student organizations, student health, student judicial affairs, student recreation, placement, campus union activities, counseling, and student development;
 - b. establish academic standards to be maintained by all students in the College and its various units.
 - 2. Structure.

The Student Affairs Committee will consist of seven (7) members: three (3) faculty, one (1) representative from Student Affairs, two (2) students, and one (1) administrator.

- C. Administrative Procedures Committee.
 - 1. Function. The responsibilities are to:
 - a. review and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate and appropriate administrators pertaining to the calendar and to existing or new proposals related to College policies, rules, and procedures;

b. assist in communicating and clarifying procedures for Faculty, staff, and students.

2. Structure.

The Administrative Procedures Committee shall consist of four (4) faculty members, one (1) student, one (1) representative of Student Affairs, and one (1) administrator.

The Administrative Procedures Committee shall consist of at least four (4) faculty members. Each division may send one representative. Other members of the committee (if they choose to participate) may include one (1) student, one (1) Student Affairs representative and one (1) administration representative. In cases where a division or other group is not represented on the committee, such division or group shall nonetheless be responsible for remaining current on all Committee business.

- D. Curriculum Committee.
 - 1. Function. The responsibilities are to:

STPRC 2007-2008

Amended Constitution: Six tenured, each from a different division (3 year terms); 3 full Professors; Chair (1 year term). Chair needs to be confirmed by Faculty Association.

Faculty	Division	Tenure Status	Rank	Term (years)	End Date
Lana Elliott	ED	Т	Prof	3	2009
Cheryl Jurgens	SS	Т	Asst.	3	2010
Chair: Tom Urquhart	NS	Т	Prof	3	2009
Michelle Sotka	BU	Т	Assoc.	3	2010
Shaomin Huang	BU	Т	Prof.	3	2008
Marilyn Heckendorn	NU	Т	Assoc.	3	2008
Claire Davis	HUM	Т	Prof.	3	2008

SPRC 2007-2008

5 Members - 1 Assistant Professor, 1 Associate Professor, 1 Full Professor

Associate professor members serve 3-year terms; Assistant and Full Professors serve 1-year terms; Chair serves 1-year.

With the nominee's permission, nominations can be made by members of any division. Nominees should not be a candidate for tenure or promotion during AY 2007-2008.

Members	Rank	Term Expires
Clarence Griffin (T&I)	Associate Professor	2009
Jim Bowen (BTS)	Full Professor	2008
Mark Smith (T&I)	Associate Professor	2008
Chair: Erick Cummings (T&I)	Associate Professor	2008
Janice Raykovich (BTS)	Associate Professor	2008