Faculty Association Lewis-Clark State College

Approved Minutes 3:30 PM, March 24, 2016 MLH 100

Present: Rhona Alboucq, Barbara Barnes, Julie Bezzerides, Lynne Bidwell, Henrik Brosten, D. Susie Bunt, Donald Crea, Jennifer Cromer, Harold Crook, Christa Davis, Rhett Diessner, Diane Driskill, Laura Earles, J. Anthony Fernandez, Mary Flores, Kate Flower, Tracy Flynn, Rachelle Genthos, Martin Gibbs, Debbie Goodwin, Darci Graves, Marcy Halpin, Krista Harwick, Andena Hibbard, Michael Hill, Leif Hoffmann, Lorinda Hughes, Rachel Jameton, Matthew Johnston, Tim Lynch, Eric Martin, Dave Massaro, Gary Mayton, Robert McDonald, Ed Miller, Teresa Nash, Lauren Nichols, Sue Niewenhous, Susan Odom, Michael Owen, Christopher Riggs, Clay Robinson, Mary Lou Robinson, Lachelle Rosenbaum, Teri Rust, Jenny Scott, Wendy Shuttleworth, Mark Smith, Lori Stinson, Eric Stoffregen, Gwen Sullivan, Jill Thomas-Jorgensen, Samantha Thompson-Franklin, Heather VanMullem, Peter VanMullem, Amanda Van Lanen, Pamela Walton, Angela Wartel, Jennifer Weeks, Stan Wilson, Alicia Robertson

I. Call to order: 3:30 by Alex Bezzerides

- II. Consent Agenda
 - A. Minutes February 25, 2016
 - B. Budget Report
 Benevolence Fund Balance: \$1,155.00
 Faculty Association Fund Balance: \$2,633.00

Motion to approve the consent agenda by Eric Martin, seconded, approved unanimously.

III. Remarks

President: Dr. J. Anthony Fernandez

• The House voted today on the higher education budget which passed. LCSC got a little over \$35 million, with most of what was briefed on at the last faculty association meeting. This budget will go to the Senate and will move forward from there.

Provost: Dr. Lori Stinson

- None
- IV. Invited Reports none scheduled
- VI. Old Business

A. Constitutional changes/Operational Guidelines

These two documents have been made available on the LCSC webpage prior to this meeting. It has been requested that the current constitution be split into two documents, so that all items are not required to move to SBOE for approval when changes are needed. A motion is requested to approve splitting the current constitution to make these two documents: 1. The Constitution and 2. Operational guidelines. Motion made by David Massaro, seconded, no discussion, and the motion is approved unanimously.

A. Graduation list

The Graduation list for May 2016 was sent to all faculty prior to this meeting. A motion to approve said graduation list was made by Eric Martin, seconded, and, approved unanimously.

B. Stipends: Web master and Secretary of Faculty Association and Senate In the past a \$1000.00 stipend was provided for these two positions with funds from the Faculty Association fund. See the balance of that fund above. A motion to provide this stipend for this year was made by Eric Martin, seconded, approved unanimously.

- C. Committee elections 2016-2017
 - a. Chair-elect: Amanda Van Lanen has been nominated Additional nominations requested/none made. Motion to close nominations and approve the current nominee by Rhett Diessner, seconded, approved unanimously.

The following nominations were done as a group:

- b. STPRC (Matt Brady and Kerensa Allison nominated as members; Amy Canfield nominated as chair)
- c. Benevolence Committee (Traci Story and Tracy Flynn nominated) Chair of committee requested information for reason for need.
- d. Hearing Board (Debbie Goodwin, Leif Hoffmann, Teresa Nash nominated)
- e. Secretary (Michelle Pearson-Smith nominated)

The chair of the Benevolence Committee did request information on new member nominations as new members aren't required. These individuals are instead volunteering for service to represent each Division, not replacing current members. No additional motions have been made to current list.

Motion to close nominations and approve the current nominations by Rik Brosten, seconded, approved unanimously.

This nomination was done separately r/t the need for a vote:

f. General Education Committee (2 seats available)

Nominees include: Jane Finan, Pete VanMullem, and Eric Martin. There was a request for speeches; however not all candidates could be present at the meeting, so this wasn't done. There were no additional nominations. Ballots dispersed, collected, and counted by Ed Miller. **Results: Jane Finan and Erik Martin**

D. Emeritus/Emerita

BTS: Rhonda Combs nominated by Jennifer Weeks

Library: Sue Niewenhous nominated by Lynne Bidwell.

BTS: Janice Raykovich nominated by Alicia Robertson

Math: Craig Steenberg nominated by Ed Miller

Motion to close nominations and approve those presented made by Mike Owen, seconded, and approved unanimously.

- IX. Good of the Order
 - Alex Bezzerides: Faculty staff awards luncheon is Friday April 8th from 12 to 1pm in WCC. Please RSVP to the Provost's office to assist in planning for the meal.
 - Marcy Halpin: The curriculum system is back online for the 2017- 2018 catalog. The curriculum committee will be meeting after spring break.
 - Marcy Halpin: Speech and debate will be hosting a public debate ~April 19th? Details are still to be determined.
 - Rhett Diessner: Women's history month was really engaging this year.
 - Leif Hoffmann: This year at *Art under the Elms*, "The Art of Giving" will take place again, collecting food for 5 different food banks in the valley.
 - Student Art exhibition opens today in the CAH.

X. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn made by Erik Martin, seconded, approved unanimously. Meeting adjourned @3:57

The next meeting of the Faculty Association is TBD