Faculty Association Lewis-Clark State College Approved Minutes January 11, 2018 Following the All Campus Meeting Silverthorne Theater

Present: Charles Addo-Quaye, Karen Andrews, Ayodeji Arogundade, Lynne Bidwell, Johanna Bjork, Victoria Boubel, Amy Canfield, Jennifer Cromer, Chelsea Cronin, Harold Crook, Michele D'Arcy-Evans, Marlowe Daly-Galeano, Kimberly Devich, Rhett Diessner, Michelle Doty, Laura Earles, Erin Fay, Mary Flores, Kate Flower, Tracy Flynn, Brian Fonnesbeck, Rachelle Genthos, Martin Gibbs, BradLee Goeckner, Tiara Good, Okey Goode, Debbie Goodwin, Sarah Graham, Darci Graves, Marcy Halpin, William Harman, N. Sue Hasbrouck, William Hayne, Delta Heath-Simpson, Heather Henson-Ramsey, Leif Hoffmann, Lorinda Hughes, Rachel Jameton, Nancy Johnston, Bryce Kammers, Darcy Kincaid, Beverly Kloepfer, John Kok, Ruth Kilburn, Leigh Latta, Debbie Lemon, Jenni Light, Luther Maddy, Julie Magelky, Elizabeth Martin, David Massaro, Lloyd Mataka, Gary Mayton, Amy Minervini, Manee Moua, Teresa Nash, Christopher Norden, Sydney Parker, Michelle Pearson-Smith, Peter Remien, Katie Roberts, Alicia Robertson, Clay Robinson, Mary Lou Robinson, Joshua Rogers, LaChelle Rosenbaum, Teri Rust, Ramon Royce, Jessica Savage, Elizabeth Scarano, Mark Smith, Spencer Payton, Lori Stinson, Gwen Sullivan, Jill Thomas-Jorgenson, Samantha Thompson-Franklin, Heather VanMullem, Pete VanMullem, Kenneth Wareham, Scott Wimer

- I. Call to Order : 1050 by Amanda Van Lanen
- II. Consent Agenda
 - a. Approval of association minutes from 10/26/17 meeting.
 - b. Treasury Report \$4196
 - *c.* Local Fund \$ 1002

Motion to approve by Lynne Bidwell, seconded, approved unanimously.

III. Remarks: Amanda Van Lanen

Strategic plan: Campus conversations regarding updating the Strategic Plan will be held to allow questions and feedback. Meetings are: Wednesday Jan.17th 12pm to 1pm and Wednesday Jan. 31st 09am to 10am.

Faculty Awards are Due March 2nd. See Provost's webpage for more information regarding availability and nominations.

Faculty Emeritus nominations will need to be made soon. Division chairs will be sent messages, but faculty can provide input.

PERSI: Last fall the BSU faculty senate chair regarding an investigation into PERSI (a state retirement pension plan that provides fixed benefit packages) approached the Senate Chair. After positive Division feedback on campus, LCSC agreed to back BSU in these efforts. BSU faculty senate is working to put together a package that all eight higher

education institutions can present to the ISBOE for approval. This will probably be a long process. Details regarding this option are not yet known.

Institutional Research & Effectiveness Director: Grace Anderson has been hired and was introduced.

IV. Invited Reports

Martin Gibbs: Announcement for Spalding Hall faculty regarding new office assignments for the anticipated and timely July completion date. Martin Gibbs will be in touch with all who need to move in, and he will provide a scan of the floorplan for review. Office assignments will be based on seniority (hire date). Questions or concerns regarding this topic should be directed to him.

V. New Business

a. Compensation Review Committee Survey http://www.lcsc.edu/crc/compensation-comments/

The CRC provides analyses & recommendations regarding employee compensation. Meetings have started to provide feedback to administration regarding the faculty needs on campus regarding compensation. The CRC chair: Allen Schmook has sent out a survey seeking feedback. The survey will be sent again soon, and timely feedback is necessary as the deadline is January 19, 2018 in order for the committee to review before making recommendations.

b. Faculty Senate Committee Positions for 2018-2019 Positions will be available and voted on in the Spring. These include:

- Faculty Senate Chair Elect (3 year commitment)
- Senate Secretary
- Curriculum Committee Chair
- STPRC Chair
- Gen Ed member (cannot be DONSAM, T & I, SS, or BUS)
- Hearing Board 3 members

See Amanda Van Lanen if you are interested in any position. She can answer your questions or connect you with people who have served in these roles.

c. Funding Request for MLK Day

Leif Hoffmann: MLK & Human Rights Day is Monday January 15th, 2018. A committee composed of LCSC personnel & community members plans this event. It begins with registration at 2pm @ the YWCA where volunteers can sign up for a variety of activities that run until 4:30pm. Following the project work, the YWCA will host an informal reception with refreshments at 5pm, followed by other festivities. Find other details @ http://www.lcsc.edu/news/2018/01/03/lcsc-assists-in-coordinating-volunteer-activities-on-mlk-and-human-rights-day/.

The request is for \$250. to cover costs associated with printing & advertising. *Motion to approve by Rhett Diessner, seconded, approved unanimously.*

VI. Old Business

a. Second Reading of revisions to Policy 1.102 on Faculty Governance:
B. Structure. The seven-member STPRC will be constituted as follows: six (6) tenured faculty members (each from a different academic division) a tenured faculty member from each academic division, and a Chair. All members will be elected by the Faculty Association at its spring meeting. Three (3) At least 50% of the STPRC faculty members must hold full-professor rank.

These changes now account for all Divisions with the addition of Movement and Sports Sciences last semester. The first reading of this occurred at the October meeting taking number references out of it to make it more general.

Motion to approve changes by Harold Crook, seconded, approved unanimously.

VII. Good of the Order

Harold Crook (Past Faculty Senate Chair): Noticed the Local Fund for faculty Senate account balance and requested faculty consider making a monthly donation, (even \$1.00/paycheck is beneficial).

Rachel Jameton (Director of the Center for Teaching & Learning): Last semester the CTL book club read *Whistling Vivaldi* (a book about stereotypes, how those affect teaching, and how one can make changes). Since it was a success, it has been requested again. Watch for an email regarding this opportunity.

Motion to adjourn by Bev Kloepfer, seconded, approved unanimously.

Meeting adjourned 11:14 a.m.