

## Faculty Association Meeting Minutes January 13, 2022, 3:15pm Silverthorne Theatre & Virtual Meeting

Present:

Amy Minervini, Sam Coulter, Jennifer James, Leta Robinson, Jessica Savage, Suzanne Rousseau, Kacey Diemert, Luther Maddy, Nina Peterson, Jenny Scott, Jill Thomas-Jorgensen, Ayodeji Arogundade, Gene Straughan, Sue Hasbrouck, Christina Brando-Subis, John Morrison, Jenni Light, Jennifer Weeks, Scott Brainard, Natalie Holman, Marlowe Daly-Galeano, Lauren Connolly, Peter Remien, LaChelle Rosenbaum, Julee Moore, Ken Wareham, Nancy Johnston, Matt Johnston, Scott Wimer, Tracy Flynn, Joan Agee, Debbie Lemon, Elaine Soloniuk, Chelsea Cronin, Deena Rauch, Harold Crook, Teri Rust, Dianna Parker, Gwen Sullivan, Martin Gibbs, Susan Steele, Andy Tuschhoff, Seth Bradshaw, Teresa Carmack, Sarah Graham, Royal Toy, Lorinda Hughes, Fred Chilson, Eric Martin, Amanda Van Lanen, Laura Earles, Kylee Britzman, Alicia Robertson, Jenna Chambers, Lori Stinson, Wendy Shuttleworth, Kerensa Allison, Angela Wartel, Bill Hayne

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Faculty Association minutes: August 20, 2021

Motion to approve the minutes made by Harold Crook, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Charles Bell, motion approved.

- III. Treasury Report as of December 31, 2021
  - a. Benevolence = \$6000
  - Faculty Association Local Account = \$6071
     Consider donating to Faculty Association and/or Benevolence Fund
     Please continue to donate, and if you know someone who needs support from these funds please let us know.
- IV. Faculty Association/Senate Business
  - a. Policy Modification Proposals
    - i. Policy 1.104—reviewed with no revisions
    - SCE Policy 2.XXX—approved by Senate
       Note: No action taken. SCEs come to the chair and then are released to
       faculty. The timeline for the process can be found on the IR&E calendar,
       currently populated through 2026
    - iii. Proposed Gen Ed Committee Adjustment (Sarah Graham) refer to page 9 of Policy 1.102, Operational Guidelines



Note: Reorganization of divisions facilitated a change to eliminate the division language to make sure there is no conflict with division representation. The recommendation is that three of the faculty on the committee should regularly teach general education courses. Discussion was held regarding the disposition of faculty who teach in the core ranging from frequency of courses taught to the idea of experience teaching core subjects. The following language adjustment was voted upon:

"The General Education Committee will consist of five (5) faculty elected by the Faculty Association. Each member will serve a three-year term. The members must be selected from five (5) different divisions. At least three members shall have experience teaching courses in a GEM competency area ways of knowing as outlined in State Board Policy III.N. The chair of the committee will be elected annually by the committee from among the members of the committee. In the case that there is not an elected member of the General Education Committee who is also an assessment coordinator, the chair will invite the assessment coordinators to send a non-elected, non-voting representative to General Education Committee meetings."

Motion to approve the amended language was made by Harold Crook,  $2^{nd}$  by Jenni Light, Motion approved with no noted in opposition or abstentions.

- b. SBOE Policy III.B. Academic Freedom & Responsibility and Policy III.P Students (VP Chilson)
  - i. Both Policies passed first reading at the December board meeting and may be approved at the next SBOE meeting in February.
  - ii. The link can be found on the SBOE website or our Faculty Association website:

 $\underline{\text{https://boardofed.idaho.gov/meetings/board/archive/2021/121521/06IRSA}}.pdf$ 

Note: Royal & Gene have represented us well. The SBOE has extended the process and it will have the second reading in February. The senate leadership from all Idaho higher education institutions will be sending a letter in support to the board of education.

Gene Straughn – Read the new policy carefully. The old policy seemed to be more concerned about the state/students. The new policy clearly separates the areas of academic freedom and responsibility into <a href="Institutions">Institutions</a>, Students, and Faculty. This policy represents the three areas



well and permits a way to review the information that may help to address the various factors that impact us all. This is a big step forward.

c. Faculty Association/Senate Officers:

Additional nominations need to be submitted prior to February 14, 2022. Voting will take place in the March Association meeting.

Current Nominations Faculty Association/Senate:

- i. Chair-Elect Nominations
  - 1. Jenny Scott
- ii. Secretary Nominations
  - 1. Celeste Ellis
- d. Emeritus nominations also need completed. Check with your colleagues and division chairs on those eligible for emeritus status prior to nominations. Emeritus nominations should be received by Friday, February 25, 2022 glance at policy 2.110 for any clarification or requirements. These will also be voted for in the March Association meeting.

## V. Remarks:

- a. Let the minutes reflect that December of 2021 Faculty Association completed a voting poll with 79 respondents December 3, 2021, enabling:
  - i. Ken Wareham to become the New Hearing Board Member for 3.5-year term (replacing Samantha Franklin and finishing the remainder of her term and a full three-year term)
  - ii. \$225 was donated to LC Cares from the local faculty association fund this will be voted on annually before a donation is gifted each year

## VI. Good of the Order:

- a. Next Faculty Association meeting will be in March to present emerita/emeritus nominations. Submit nominations for all Faculty awards to the Academic Affair's office **no later than March 14, 2022.** Electronic submission is greatly appreciated. Send to <a href="mailto:academicaffairs@lcsc.edu">academicaffairs@lcsc.edu</a>. Award recipients will be recognized at the Faculty-Staff Recognition Luncheon on **April 8, 2022**.
- b. Faculty development grants must be in by March 1<sup>st</sup> for funds from July Dec 2022.
- c. The question was raised about the return of sabbatical funding.
  - i. Answer: It is under consideration, but we are unsure when it will be reintroduced.
  - ii. Discussion relating the cost of sabbaticals and actual costs as well as alternatives for funding and supporting these opportunities.



iii. Harold Crook requested to be on the committee. If anyone else is interested in being on the Ad Hoc sabbatical committee, please let Lorinda Hughes know.

Harold Crook moved that we ask our faculty association chair to develop a subcommittee to investigate sabbaticals,  $2^{nd}$  by Nancy Johnston, motion passed with 2 abstentions and no opposition.

- iv. VP Chilson: We are not sure where the mask requirement will be this term. Keep in mind that the first two weeks we will be hit hard and will be impacted.
- v. COVID-19 reporting; VP Chilson will try his best to email you when we learn of cases. Be sure to reach back if students are missing and you have not heard from him. We want to make sure students are not abusing the system. We also want to be able to answer the question: "Is the current process sufficient?"
- vi. There was a Benevolence committee request from the floor for Leif Hoffmann, but no further discussion occurred.

Motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Sue Hasbrouck,  $2^{nd}$  by Lauren Connelly, motion passed with all in favor and 1 abstention