Office of the Provost

State Authorization

Lewis-Clark State College is authorized to offer online courses to students residing in the states listed below.  If you do not reside in one of the states listed, you may consider attending classes on-site at our Lewiston campus or our Coeur d'Alene Outreach Center.

Authorized States:   (All LCSC programs)

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas (exempt until test proctoring needs to take place)
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming


Exempt Program Specific States:

  • Oregon – Elementary PACE program
  • Wisconsin – all programs with the exception of Nursing/Teacher Education programs


Non-Authorized States:  (LCSC has declined to seek authorization in the following states as the process is cost prohibitive.) 

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Rhode Island
  • Virginia

All Other States:
LCSC has applications for authorization pending.

To Learn More:
To learn more about state authorization for distance education, visit the WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies (WCET) web site.

If you have questions regarding LCSC’s State Authorization’s please contact the e-Learning Services director.