Social Sciences Division


History of LCSC Bachelor of Social Work

Prior to 1991, the Social Science Division of Lewis-Clark State College (LCSC) offered a major in Justice Studies with an emphasis in Social Work. Some of the early courses offered were: Social Case Studies and Interviewing; Social Welfare Policy; Introduction to Group Dynamics; The Family; Methods of Social Work; and Introduction to Social Welfare. Fieldwork for prospective social workers was offered as well. In the fall of 1991, a Social Work major (BSW) was established for the first time in the Social Science Division at the College. In the Fall of 1993 the Bachelor's in Social Work was established for the College's campus in Coeur d'Alene as well.

The LCSC Social Work Program, which offers the only Bachelor's Degree in Social Work in Northern Idaho, achieved candidacy for accreditation in 1992 from the Council on Social Work Education and achieved full accreditation for the program in 1996. Since 1992, the College's Social Work graduates have been eligible for advanced standing in Master's level (MSW) programs because of the CSWE Candidacy Status. Since 1991 the Social Work program has graduated over 300 students and has over 180 declared social work majors on the two campuses.

Our program is advised by a Social Work Advisory Board.