ūüöÄ We're excited to announce a new website is on the way! Take an early look and feel free to offer feedback.

About LC

Previous Presidents and Administrators

Lewiston State Normal School was born of a ninteenth century vision to place a teachers' training institution in northern Idaho.  So persuasive were the voices of early supporters that the state legislature granted approval in 1893. Tribute is paid to the leaders who transformed a young normal school into a mature, innovative institution.

1893-1903 George Knepper Lewiston State Normal School
1903-1915 George H. Black  Lewiston State Normal School 
1915-1925 Oliver M. Elliott  Lewiston State Normal School
1925-1941  John E. Turner  Lewiston State Normal School
1941-1951 Glenn W. Todd

Lewiston State Normal School/
Northern Idaho College of Education 

1951 Northern Idaho College of Education closed   
1955 Lewis-Clark Normal School opens  
1955-1957 Dr. H. Walter Steffens Lewis-Clark Normal School
1957-1963 Dr. Cleon C. Caldwell Lewis-Clark Normal School
1963-1968 Dr. Wayne Sims Lewis-Clark Normal School
1968-1978 Dr. Jerold O. Dugger

Lewis-Clark Normal School/
Lewis-Clark State College 

1978-1994 Dr. Lee A. Vickers Lewis-Clark State College 
1994-1995 Dr. Michael Glenn Lewis-Clark State College  
1995-2000 Dr. James W. Hottois Lewis-Clark State College  
2000-2001 Dr. Niel T. Zimmerman  Lewis-Clark State College  
2001-2010 Dr. Dene K. Thomas Lewis-Clark State College 
2010-2018 Dr. J. Anthony Fernández Lewis-Clark State College 
2018-present Dr. Cynthia Pemberton Lewis-Clark State College