





Appetizers and beverages were served from 2:00 – 2:30 p.m.

**Opening:** Kim Vogel called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m. and invited all the attendees to introduce themselves, which department they currently work in, and how long they have been on campus.

Attendees: Kim Vogel, Jeannette Seward, Leilani Farrell, Teri Ockwell, Mindy Brand, Julie Christianson, Stacey Wendt, Moriah Hale, Shane Coley, James Nave, Julie Hutchinson, Heath Fuller, Quinn Wilson, Kari Mackey, Jeff Zimmerman, David Walker, Debbie Leachman, Diana Higgins, Jennifer Opdahl, Kalene Eilers, Vivian Miller, Kirstin Jeppsen, Julie Scoles, Dovie Willey, Denise Key, Lauren Grijalva, Angie McClain, Jess Waddington, Julie Lorentz, Jordan Farrington, Karen Schmidt, Theresa Chrisman, Robin VanSickle, Connie Hallen, and Corey Pedersen. (35)

Jeannette introduced the new employees since the last meeting: Benjamin Frey, Custodian and Joshua Espinosa, custodian.

# Reports:

February Meeting Minutes: Kim requested for any changes or updates to the previous meeting minutes. Jeff Zimmerman motioned to approve and Julie Hutchinson seconded the minutes as written.

Treasurer's Report: Teri Ockwell went over the treasurer's report including the donation to the campus pantry. Teri also brought up the donation form and informed everyone that the CSO functions off of employee donations and it is very important to the organization. Kalene Eilers motioned to approve the report and Jennifer Opdahl seconded.

### **Old Business:**

Food Drive: Kim discussed the annual food drive competition and that between both the CSO and PSO \$615.00 was donated to the Warrior Pantry. PSO won the competition this year.

CSO Emeritus: The proposal for CSO Emeritus Status was sent out and voted on via email. Representatives will meet with the President in August to discuss the potential of moving this forward. There were no comments regarding this proposal.

Compensation Review Committee: The President has requested that members of this committee serve for two years. For CSO, that will include both the chair and chair-elect for the current year. Jeannette Seward explained where to find the most updated information about the CRC reports; one of which is a report with requests and responses by the President. Kim touched base on a couple items included in this report that were specific to CSO including: how PSO and CSO are classified to the state and how these could change, annual compensation increases, dependent benefit possibly increased to two children, and the emeritus status proposal. (<a href="https://www.lcsc.edu/crc/2018-2019-documents">www.lcsc.edu/crc/2018-2019-documents</a>)

### **New Business:**

Employee Recognition: Ed Howard, 15 years; Amanda Klone, 15 years; and Debbie Leachman, 40 years. Retirees include: Doris Swinford, 16 years and Paula Hasfurther, 8 years.

#### Committee Reports:

President's Council: Kim Vogel served on this committee this year. Most information had been previously discussed. CTE Building Groundbreaking and prospective new student call outs were somewhat successful.

Nomination/Election Committee: Leilani Farrell served as chair on this committee, voting was successful with 47 ballots submitted.

Employee of the Year Committee: James Nave served as chair on this committee, the newest employee of the year was awarded to Nadine Walters.

Bylaws Committee: Jeannette Seward served as chair on this committee. This year an addendum was added to the bylaws about hardship donations. The advocacy committee was also added to the bylaws. No new ideas were brought to the table for this meeting.

Advocacy Committee: Jeannette reports that this committee only met once this year and the main objective was for the rollout of the student meal program. It seemed somewhat unsuccessful this year and some member proposed moving the envelopes to different offices. Because this is a CSO program, it needs to stay within a CSO department if it is decided to move from Division offices. This discussion is ongoing.

FAC Observers: Kim served as chair of this committee and reported to the President about what mattered most to CSO. One item suggested by CSO was to purchase snow removal equipment which was approved.

Small Appliance Usage Committee: Leilani was the CSO representative of this committee. The committee has worked up a policy regarding space heaters on campus. This policy should be released by the next semester.

Annual Evaluations: Jeannette talked about the process of evaluations. She and Kim met with HR to talk about options for evaluations and whether or not changes can be made. The answer to that question was made clear: no. Evaluations may be appealed or addendums added. The rumor about a quota that was supposed to met within each department is not true, according to HR. After this meeting, Jeannette is going to take rumors and comments made at this meeting directly to the Provost, HR, and/or President for discussion.

Kim grouped the next set of items together: CSO Night Crew Involvement, CSO Meeting Schedule, and CSO Takes Action!. The officers have brought up the idea of expanding to have more meetings throughout the year.

Thoughts for CSO meetings include:

- 1. Alternating morning and afternoon meetings
- 2. More email correspondence for people who cannot leave their office
- 3. Use surveys more often (when making decisions or seeking input)
- 4. Bi-monthly or monthly meetings
- 5. Option of adding Zoom into meetings (privacy was an issue with this)

# Night crew:

1. Angie McClain will reach out to night crew employees about being involved and what can be done to get this crew more active.

Julie Hutchinson motioned for six bi-monthly CSO meetings a year, Karen Schmidt seconded the motion. All attendees approved. The next meeting to be in July.

CSO Takes Action! Things observed across campus that we would like to bring the attention to upper administration. One example brought up was the concern about losing the "red shirts" for groundskeeping. The advocacy committee will take this on.

Kim thanked the current CSO officers for the support this previous year. She then announced the new officers for the 2019-20 year. Chair Elect, Dovie Wiley; Recording Secretary, Amanda Greco; Web Secretary, Moriah Hale; and Treasurer, Teri Ockwell. Jeannette Seward will move from Chair Elect to the Chair position.

Door Prizes: Teri Ockwell created the door prizes for this meeting. Winners are: James Nave, Connie Hallen, Jess Waddington, and Corey Pedersen.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m. Julie Hutchinson moved to adjourn the meeting, James Nave seconded.

Next meeting: July 2019 (exact date and location TBD)