Faculty Association

November 7, 2013 Approved minutes

Present: Ed Miller, Chair; Ed Miller, Chair; Brian Fonnesbeck, Past Chair; Alex Bezzerides, Chair Elect; Amy Canfield, Secretary; Lynne Bidwell, Webmaster; Tony Fernandez, President; Lori Stinson, Provost

Karen Andrews, Mike Collins, Jennifer Cromer, Brian Dietel, Mike Edgehouse, Ray Esparsen, Kate Flower, Debbie Goodwin, Larry Haapanen, Marcy Halpin, Jacquelynn Hanvey, Andena Hibbard, Leif Hoffman, Matt Johnston, Ruth Lapsley, Jenni Light, Luther Maddy, Dave Massaro, Dave McCullough, Nan Miguel, Chris Riggs, Teri Rust, Jenny Scott, Wendy Shuttleworth, Kristin Smith, Jill Thomas-Jorgenson, Holly Tower, Heather Van Mullem, Stan Wilson

I. Called to order at 3:17 by Ed Miller.

II. Consent Agenda

A. Approval of draft minutes from April 25, 2013, meeting.

B. Budget Report

	July 1	October 31
Faculty Association	1940.98	2692.98
Benevolence	2443.80	2416.40

Ed reminded faculty of the importance of contributions with payroll deduction, and recommended that if faculty have questions that they see the Secretary/Treasurer.

There was a move to approve the consent agenda from Chris Riggs, seconded by Jenni Light. There was no further discussion and the motion passed with one abstention (Amanda Van Lanen).

III. Remarks

President Fernandez gave faculty an update on what areas LCSC is emphasizing to the state leaders for needs. Last week, President Fernandez, Vice President for Finance and Administration Chet Herbst, Provost Lori Stinson, and College Advancement Director Mary Hasenoehrl met with District Seven representatives at University of Idaho to discuss these areas of emphasis. President Fernandez noted that employee compensation is the top priority for LCSC, as it is for all the institutions of higher education in the state. This message will also be conveyed to the Joint Finance Appropriations Committee when it convenes. President Fernandez noted that the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) was on campus this week to evaluate the teacher education program. The exit interview noted that our Education Division meets all of NCATE's standards. President Fernandez congratulated Heather Van Mullem, Chair of the Education Division, and the entire faculty of the division for a job well done.

President Fernandez stated that work on the Strategic Plan's objectives continue. The Teaching and Learning Center Committee met last week, and President Fernandez will receive a report from this group soon. Dave McCullough asked where we stood on Program Prioritization and President Fernandez replied that work on that is continuing. He will brief the President's Council next week on criteria for the next steps.

IV. Invited Reports None

V. Old Business

A. Election of Chair, Standing Promotion Review Committee

Mike Hill, Technical and Industrial Division, was nominated for this position. He has already taken on many of the responsibilities this fall already. Mike was elected by ballot.

VI. New Business

A. Benevolence Committee

Teri Rust presented on behalf of the committee to ask the faculty association to approve changes in the committee's guidelines. One of the changes was moving from three members to "a minimum of three members. The next change was to elect Eleanor Downey as the new chair of the committee. There was a change in eligibility to include retired faculty members in who the benevolence committee can assist. The language previously stated that the committee could only provide assistance up to \$300, but the proposed change would make it at the discretion of the committee.

Matt Johnston moved to approve the changes, and Chris Riggs seconded. There was a discussion of some minor language changes to make the guidelines more uniform throughout with a potential increase in committee members (from three to "a minimum of three). For example, Ruth Lapsley recommended changing "The Faculty Association Chair may substitute and vote in place of a committee member if two of the three committee members are unavailable when a request must be considered" to "The Faculty Association Chair may substitute and vote in place of a committee member if a majority of committee members are unavailable when a request must be considered." Brian Fonnesbeck called for the question, and the motion passed unanimously to support the amended guidelines.

There was a motion to approve Eleanor Downey as the new chair by Chris Riggs. Jenni Light seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

B. Martin Luther King/Idaho Civil Rights Day

Chris Riggs requested \$525 from the association to assist with events on campus for Martin Luther King, Jr., and Idaho Human Rights Day in January. He reminded the association that these events are funded by donations.

Nan Miguel moved to approve the request, and Debbie Goodwin seconded it. The motion passed.

C. Professional Development Training

On behalf of Julie Crea and the Professional Development Committee, Debbie Goodwin reminded faculty that there is funding for PDT courses and the committee wants to know what faculty needs in terms of training, speaker, or initiatives. For more information, contact Julie Crea.

VII. Good of the Order

None.

VIII. Adjourn

Chris moved to adjourn, Brian Dietel seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 3:39.