LCSC Faculty Association Minutes April 11, 2013 approved April 25th 2013

1. Call to Order by Brian Fonnesbeck at 3:17pm

- 2. Consent Agenda
 - a. Approval of Feb 7, 2013 minutes
 - b. Treasury Report (as of 4/9/2013)
 - i. Faculty Association = \$1, 875.93
 - ii. Benevolence = \$2,389.80

Move to approve from Matt Johnston, seconded by Okey Goode. There was no further discussion. All voted in favor; the consent agenda is approved.

3. Regular Agenda

a. President's Report Tony Fernandez

- Two updates:
 - The Strategic Plan is on the website, as of tomorrow it is open for comments. President Fernandez thanked Alan Schmoock and the other committee members. Please note the Current Environmental Climate attachment this is recommended reading. The Strategic Plan is open for comments until April 30th. It is also open for Board Members and Students for comment. There is a separate survey to complete please look out for Email reminders from Greg Meyer.
 - Provost Simone will be accepting the position of President for Trinidad Junior College, CO. Tony Fernandez thanked Carmen Simone for her contributions. An interim provost will be appointed; there is no final decision on this appointment yet. A short list of candidates, both internal and external, will be presented. Next year the search for a provost will begin.

b. Chair's Report

- We have voted emeriti for 5 faculty; Marika Botha, Betsy Van Clief, Victor Kriss, Mike Bradley, and Bill Clouser. Anita Bradley and Ruth Lapsley have also announced retirement.
- Many policies have been updated and there are a few more to finish off today. Others will be held up until next year to be studied further.
- The Budget Liaison has worked with Compensation Review Committee to make recommendations for salary increases and benefit increases, most of which, if done, will depend on internal sources as the Governor, Legislators, and SBOE did not recommend increases except in some areas not related to compensation – workload adjustment, deferred maintenance, building projects; all pending. It is possible we will have an education benefit extended to dependents but that is in the works.
- There were three nominations for Talkington award Harold Crook will chair the committee that makes that decision and forward their recommendation to the

Provost's office. Winners of this and other awards will be announced at all campus meeting after faculty association meeting April 25th WCC.

- The Chair Elect and Treasurer nominations will be announced and voted on at the next meeting.
- Nominations for Gen Ed chair are coming in; this will be on the ballot at the next meeting.
- The graduation list will be voted on at the next meeting
- We may be able to announce faculty Senate retreat date for following year?
- There is one more Faculty Senate meeting on May 9, 315 in Activity Center conference room.

4. New Business

- a. Nominations for emeritus/emerita status i.. Dan Huffman T&I
- Rik Brosten spoke in support of Dan Huffman's nomination for emeritus status. Dan has served the college for 22 years in welding technology. During this time he has received numerous recognitions for his role as instructor. It should be noted that the welding program at LCSC is #2 in the nation according to US News.

ii. Jim Hepworth Humanities

• Okey Goode spoke in support of Jim Hepworth's nomination from the Division of Humanities. Jim Hepworth has been with the college since 1984. In the past he has been editor and manager of Confluence Press in addition to his role as an educator. He is now a grant writer for the Center for Art and History and has been very successful in that role. His classes were considered life changing experiences for many of his students.

Ed Miller called for vote by acclamation. There was applause from the floor in favor of awarding emeritus status to both candidates.

There was a call to split the vote from Matt Johnston, seconded by Rachel Jameton. There was not the required majority to divide the vote so acclamation stands, both candidates will receive emeritus status.

b. Constitutional changes to committee description/membership Ruth Lapsley

The structure of faculty committees was clarified and changed to reflect preferences of the committees. These changes were made with Division input and have been approved by the Faculty Senate. There was a move to approve from Okey Goode, seconded by David Massaro. There was no further discussion. At voting the majority were in favor with one vote against. The motion carries; the changes are approved.

c. Updates on policies **None**

d. Officers, committee changes for next term Ed Miller

- Ed Miller informed the Faculty Association that Alex Bezzerides has stepped forward and also asked for any additional nominations for Chair Elect.
- Amy Canfield Social Sciences has agreed to stand for the position of Secretary.

•	Nominees for SPRC so far		
	Rhonda Combs	BTS	Professor (1 yr)
	Brian Kolstad		BTS Associate (3 yr)
	Jennifer Weeks	BTS	Assistant (1 yr)
	Verna Studer		BTS Professor (1 yr)

- Nominees for STPRC: three positions need to be filled two associate Prof and one Prof all for three year terms, so far no nominations have come forward. Not from NHS, HUM or ED
- Hearing Board
 2 year term tenured Verna Studer is the only nominee thus far.
- Gen ED 3 or 5 year term to be determined Michelle Doty, Dave Massaro, Gary Mayton from ED Janice Raykovich BTS HUM, NS, SS and NU ineligible

Laura Earles asked if information could be provided by each of the nominees to support their nominations. Ruth Lapsley replied saying that in the past nominees have been asked to stand up and outline their platforms.

e. Honorarium(s) for secretary and webmaster Brian Fonnesbeck

• The Senate budget does not allow the stipend to be as generous as in the past. Brian Fonnesbeck proposes \$600 for each position. There was a move to approve from Rik brosten, seconded by Jenni Light. There was no further discussion upon voting all voted in favor, the motion carries.

5. Good of the Order **None.**

6. Next meetings:

Faculty Association 4/25, 315 WCC Faculty Senate 5/9 Activity Center Conference Room

• There was a move to adjourn from Andena Hibbard, seconded by Krista Ellis. There was no discussion; all voted in favor. The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 pm.