Faculty Association Minutes Tuesday May 9, 2006 Williams Conference Center

- I. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 3:16 PM by the Chair, Leanne Parker
- II. Approval of Old Minutes: The minutes from the March 30, 2006 meeting were approved as presented.

III. Treasury Report

a. Faculty Senate Appropriated Account: \$632.46

b. Faculty Association Account: \$4098.97

c. Faculty Benevolence Account: \$1436.00

IV. New Business

- a. Approval of Revised Tenure Policy 2.111: This policy was approved by the Faculty Senate and forwarded to the Association for consideration. There was a motion to accept the revised policy as presented. This motion was passed with 55 ayes, 1 nay and no abstentions.
- b. Election of Hearing Board Member: Stan Wilson (T & I) was nominated to serve on the Hearing Board. Nominations were closed and the motion to elect the nominee to the Hearing Board was passed by unanimous vote.
- c. Election of STPRC members: Lana Elliot (Education) & Tris Utschig (Natural Sciences) were nominated to serve three year terms on the STPRC. Nominations were closed and the motion elect the nominees to the STPRC passed unanimously. Marilyn Heckendorn (Nursing) was nominated to serve as the chair of the committee. Nominations were closed and the motion to appoint the nominee as chair was passed by unanimous vote.
- d. Election of SPRC members: Clarence Griffin (T & I) was nominated to serve a three year term and Jim Bowen (BTS) and Rhona Alboucq (BTS) were nominated to serve one terms on the SPRC. Erick Cummings (T&I) was nominated to Chair the committee. Nominations were closed and the motion to appoint the nominees to the SPRC was passed by unanimous vote.

e. Election of Professor Emeriti:

i. Gerry Ramey (retired Spring 2005, Business Division) was nominated

- for the rank of Professor Emeritus by Division Chair Randy Martin. The motion to award Gerry Ramey the rank of Professor Emeritus was passed with 48 ayes, 1 nay and 7 abstentions.
- ii. Barbara McNeil (retiring Spring 2006, Nursing) was nominated for the rank of Professor Emerita by Division Chair Mary Ruth Hassett. The motion to award Barbara McNeil the rank of Professor Emerita was passed by unanimous vote.
- iii. There was discussion about the meaning of "retirement" as defined in the policy describing the criteria for eligibility for the rank of Professor Emeritus. President Thomas suggested if further analysis of this issue is needed, it be taken up by the Faculty Senate in the coming academic year.
- f. Approval of the Graduation List: There was a motion to approve the Spring 2006 graduation list as amended by the Office of the Registrar. This motion was passed by unanimous vote.
- g. Honoraria for Faculty Association Webmaster and Secretary: There was a motion to award honoraria in the amount of \$400 to the Webmaster and \$500 to the Secretary. This motion was passed by unanimous vote.
- h. Election of Faculty Association Chair, Susan Odom presiding
 - i. The Chair (Leanne Parker) has expressed interest in serving a second year as Chair of the Association with the Chair-Elect (Susan Odom) serving a second year in her current role. Dr. Odom noted that the Faculty Affairs and Administrative Procedures sub-committees had examined this potential scenario and found no constitutional problems with it. Faculty Affairs expressed support now and in the future for those who are interested, as it provides increased experience and continuity n the Chair role. Administrative Procedures examined the proper procedure for this scenario, and recommended simple motions/ otes on the Chair and Chair-elect serving a second year. Faculty Senate voted to support this procedure.
 - ii. There was a Point of Order raised from the floor. The concern was that the election of Susan Odom as Chair-Elect the previous year implied her assumption of the duties of the Chair at present time. It was argued that if this was no longer true, the floor should be opened to nominations.
 - iii. The Chair responded by noting that to open the floor to nominations would not be an equitable outcome to the current Chair-Elect who has

spent the 2005-06 academic year gaining experience that would serve her well as a future Chair.

- iv. There was a question about the constitutional role of the Chair-Elect, especially as it related to the chairing of the Faculty Affairs subcommittee of the Senate. The Chair responded that although there had been discussions about new roles for the Chair-Elect if she was to serve an additional one-year term, no decisions had been finalized.
- v. A motion was proposed and seconded to re-elect Leanne Parker as Chair of the Faculty Association and re-elect Susan Odom as the Chair-Elect of the Faculty Association. This motion passed with a vote of 44 ayes, 6 nays and 6 abstentions.

V. Good of the Order

a. The Faculty-Staff survey is available online through May 15th at http://ir.lcsc.edu/survey/faculty

VI. Adjournment: 3:51 PM