Faculty Association Minutes Thursday, September 29, 2005 Williams Conference Center

- I. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 3:17 PM by the Chair, Leanne Parker
- II. Approval of Old Minutes: The minutes from the April 27, 2005 meeting were approved as presented.
- III. Information Items and Requests
 - a. President Thomas and Dean Pharr announced that Rhett Diessner has been selected as the Carnegie Foundation Professor of the Year for Idaho.
 - b. Dean Hanson announced the dates for a series of FERPA and Financial Aid training sessions for faculty: October 4 & 5 (FERPA); October 13 & December 7 (Financial Aid); October 26 & March 29 (Advisor training)
 - c. Lana Elliot provided an overview of the Faculty Association Benevolence Fund:
- i. The account is funded solely on faculty contributions, usually in the form of payroll deductions.
- ii. The account provides for cards & flowers and in some cases, a cash gift limited to a \$300 maximum
- iii. Last year, the account made six \$300 gifts to people in need
- iv. The Benevolence Committee needs a third member to replace Diana Ames, who has completed her term on the committee
 - d. Leanne Parker asked for a volunteer to represent the faculty on the Winter Revels planning committee
 - e. Harold Crook spoke about the newly formed "Safe Zones"
- i. Door fliers announce that a faculty member's office is a Safe Zone
- ii. There will be a training session on October 24 for interested faculty
 - IV. Treasury Report
 - a. Faculty Association Account: \$4145.77
 - b. Faculty Benevolence Account: \$1919.32
 - V. New Business
 - a. Election of the Secretary of the Faculty:

- i. Matt Johnston was nominated for the position of Secretary of the Faculty Association.

 Nominations were closed. A motion was made that Matt be elected by acclamation. The motion was approved.
 - b. Standing Tenure and Promotion Review Committee (STPRC) Elections:
- i. Claire Davis (Humanities) and Cheryl Jurgens (Social Sciences) were nominated to fill vacant positions and serve three year terms. John Haehl (Business) was nominated to fill a vacant position and serve a two year term. The nominations were closed and the members were elected by acclamation.
 - c. General Education Committee Election:
- i. The nominees for the committee are Scott Brainard (T & I), Rhett Diessner (Education),
 Larry Haapenen (Humanities), Eric Martin (Social Sciences), Ed Miller
 (Natural Sciences), Mike Owen (BTS), Sheila Watkins (Nursing). Voting
 was done by ballot with each faculty member casting a vote for up to
 five members.
- ii. Results to be announced Monday, October 3
 - VI. Good of the Order
 - a. The next Faculty Association meeting will be held December 15, 2005 @ 3:15 PM in the Williams Conference Center

VII. Adjournment: 3:37 PM