Faculty Association Meeting April 27, 2004 MINUTES

I. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Kathie Wilcox at 3:07 p.m.

- **II.** Approval of January 15 minutes: The minutes were approved as presented.
- III. Old Business:
 - A. Association Treasury Report: The Chair reported a balance of \$3209.56 currently in the Service Account, and \$600.00 in the Benevolence Account. The Chair also reported that the Faculty Senate has been asked by the SUB to give up the faculty phone in the faculty lounge at the SUB or pick up the cost of the phone. With cost increases the SUB is no longer able to pick up the cost. The Faculty Senate voted to remove the phone from the lounge rather than pick up the cost of continuing service.

IV. New Business

- A. Faculty Chair Election 2004-2005: Jeff Matthews has submitted his resignation as Faculty Chair. Michael Vernon was nominated as Chair for 2004-2005. The nominations were closed. A motion was made that Dr. Vernon be elected by acclamation. The motion was approved.
- B. Faculty Chair-elect Election 2004-2005: Leanne Parker was nominated as Chair-elect for 2004-2005. The nominations were closed. A motion was made that Dr. Parker be elected by acclamation. The motion was approved.

C. Election of Standing Promotion Committee for 2004-2005 (BTS and T&I Faculty)

1. Committee Members: Nominated to fill the vacant positions were: Don Heath-Simpson, Full Professor; Tom Mayburry, Associate Professor; Sue Gudmuson, Assistant Professor; and Jason Blazzard, Associate Professor. The nominations were closed. The members were elected by acclamation.

- 2. Chair: Mike Hill was nominated and elected as Chair.
- D. Standing Tenure & Promotion Committee Election
 - 1. Committee Members: Nominated to fill the vacant positions were: Gerry Ramey, Dan Mayton, Mark Sanders, and Sue Niewenhous.

The nominations were closed and the members were elected by acclamation.

- 2. Chair: Mary Flores was nominated and elected as Chair.
- E. Hearing Board election for 2004-2005: Regular members: The following were nominated as regular members for at term of two years: Jack Hutson (T&I) 2004-2006, Marilyn Heckendorn (NU) 2004-2006, Gwen Taylor (ED) 2004-2006, Jerry Jolley (SS) 2004-2005. The nominations were closed. The members were elected by acclimation.
- F. Higher Education Advocacy Coalition: In a meeting with the Faculty Chairs from the Idaho Higher Education Institutions, ISU presented a proposal for a Higher Education Advocacy group. The goal would be to develop strategies and ideas to promote Higher Education within the state. If LCSC would like to support this group, the LCSC faculty will need to decide to support the planning of an organization of this type. There will probably be a financial obligation, for travel for example. In response to a question from the floor, Kathie reported that initially it would likely be the Faculty Chair who would represent the LCSC faculty at these planning meetings, but ultimately it could be a member of the faculty who would represent LCSC interests. Business leaders of Idaho as well as lobbyists would also be part of this advocacy group.

Motion: Move to explore the advocacy group concept. Motion approved.

- G. Approval of Graduation List: Move to approve the graduation list as presented. Motion approved.
- V. Good of the order: The tradition has been to approve a stipend for the Association Secretary. This year, the Faculty Senate/Faculty Association has a Webmaster as well. Motion to approve stipend for the webmaster in the amount of \$300 and a stipend in the amount of \$400 for the secretary. Motion approved.

"Passing the torch" from Kathie Wilcox to Michael Vernon. Presentation of the Faculty Chair "mementos." The outgoing Chair, Kathie Wilcox expressed a special thanks to Dr. Vernon for taking on the duties of Faculty Chair. Dr. Vernon expressed the thanks of the faculty to Dr. Wilcox for serving as Chair during the 2003-2004 year.

VI. Adjournment: 3:35PM

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Coursey Secretary