Lewis-Clark State College Faculty Association Meeting May 8, 2003 Minutes

- 1. Meeting called to order by Richard Moore, Faculty Chair at 3:15 in MLH 100. A quorum was established as about 66 faculty were in attendance at the time (with about 10 more arriving later). The association had last met on April 22 and those minutes were distributed and approved.
- 2. The Faculty Association Treasurer's Report indicated that our main account has \$2877.63 as of May 1 and our appropriated account has \$683.68 in it .
- 3. The graduation list as corrected was moved to approve, seconded, and approved unanimously.
- 4. The Constitutional Amendment which was circulated to faculty prior to the meeting was moved for approval, and seconded. Discussion followed. It was approved by unanimous vote.
- 5. Elections and appointments AY 2003-2004:

Chair-Elect: Jeff Mathews was nominated and seconded, and accepted by acclamation.

Faculty Hearing Board for Grievances: The following member was nominated, seconded, and unanimously elected to serve: Delta Health Simpson as a tenured faculty from the Business division;

Standing Tenure and Promotion Review Committee – 2003 the following were nominated and then it was moved and seconded to close nominations and to elect them by acclamation and that vote carried unanimously:

Joanna Schultz, tenured; Cheryl Jurgens, non-tenured; Debbie Goodwin, non-tenured;

The following people have already agreed to serve on the new Standing Promotion Review Committee for Professional/Technical:

Mike Bradley, Chair (T&I) and Molly McGreggor-Cole (OBT) and the following people were nominated to serve additionally on that committee:

Tom Mayberry, Assoc. Prof. Ranna Albock, Asst. Prof. Mike Owen, Prof.

And then it was moved and seconded to cease nominations and to elect these people by acclamation. That motion passed unanimously.

There were no nominations for the Association Secretary or for faculty senators at this time, so the divisions will be thinking about this over the summer.

- 6. It was moved and seconded to give a \$500 honorarium to the current faculty association secretary, Sheila Watkins, and the motion carried.
- 7. Kathie Wilcox, chair elect, was then inducted and the gavel was passed along with a few insightful gifts from Dr. Moore. The Dr. Seuss book "Oh the Places You'll Go" should be especially helpful.
- 8. All past chairs came on stage and gave thank you gifts to Rita with our thanks for her job as Provost and our best wishes for her as she leaves to be President elsewhere.
- 9. Kathie then gave thank you gifts to Richard Moore for his hard work on our behalf as Chair of the Faculty this year.
- 10. The meeting was adjourned by Richard Moore, Chair at 3:55.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Sheila Watkins, Secretary