

# Faculty Association Meeting Approved Minutes

March 12, 2020, 3:15pm Williams Conference Center

Present:

Karen Andrews, Ayodeji Arogundade, Julie Bezzerides, Laura Bernatz, Terryn Berry, Lynne Bidwell, Johanna Bjork, Jim Bowen, Scott Brainard, Christina Brando-Subis, Kylee Britzman, Sean Cassidy, Jenna Chambers, Lauren Connolly, Chelsea Cronin, Harold Crook, Douglas Cruthirds, Eric Cummings, Marlowe Daly-Galeano, Christa Davis, Laura Earles, Celeste Ellis, Tirazheh Eslami, Jane Finan, Mary Flores, Tracy Flynn, Rachelle Genthôs, Martin Gibbs, Debbie Goodwin, Sarah Graham, Marcy Halpin, Andrew Hanson, Sue Hasbrouck, Andena Hibbard, Lorinda Hughes, Rachel Jameton, Bryce Kammers, Darcy Kincaid, Beverly Kloepfer, Polly Knutson, J.R. Kok, Carrie Kyser, Angela Langston, Nancy Lee-Painter, Billy Lemus, Eric Martin, Rob McDonald, Angela Meek, Ed Miller, Heidi Miller, Julee Moore, Teresa Nash, Mike Owen, Michelle Pearson-Smith, Cynthia Pemberton, Marc Riendeau, Chris Riggs, Alicia Robertson, Clay Robinson, LaChelle Rosenbaum, Ramon Royce, Jessica Savage, Bonnie Schacher, Keegan Schmidt, Jenny Scott, Mark Smith, Susan Steele, Lori Stinson, Eric Stoffregen, Gwen Sullivan, Jill Thomas-Jorgenson, Cara Thompson, Samantha Thompson-Franklin, Royal Toy, Heather Van Mullem, Amanda VanLanen, Angela Wartel, Jennifer Weeks, Lee Ann Wiggin

- I. Call to Order @ 3:15pm
- II. Approval of Faculty Association minutes from November 21, 2019 Motion to approve minutes by Harold Crook, 2nd by Michael Owen, two abstentions, motion approved.
- III. Treasury Report as of February 29, 2020
  - i. Benevolence = \$4,285
  - ii. Local = \$4,693

Consider donating to Faculty Association; Benevolence Fund, etc.

Motion to adjust the meeting to bring the Emeritus Status nominations ahead in the agenda made by Martin Gibbs, seconded, motion approved.

- IV. Faculty Emeritus Status nominations:
  - a. Claire Davis Presentation made by Sean Cassidy on behalf of the Humanities Division about her honors, achievements, and rationale for nomination.
  - b. Mary Flores Presentation made by Nancy Lee-Painter and Gwen Sulliwan on behalf of the Humanities Division; presentation included song and literary example and passing out candy. Honors, achievements, and accolades outlined.
  - c. Andena Hibbard Nursing and Health Sciences unanimously brought forward a nomination with specific emphasis on her course in assessment skills for nursing. Presentation made by Tracy Flynn.

Motion to approve all three nominations by acclamation by Harold Crook, seconded, no call for opposition or abstentions, motion approved.

V. President Pemberton

- i. COVID-19 Scenario presented including information about:
  - i. LCSC taskforce led by VP Andy Hanson
  - ii. Meetings with the SBOE
  - iii. Plan for the two-day trial in case of future closures
  - iv. Students in the dormitories and the impact of closure on them
  - v. Suspension of travel
  - vi. Request for faculty to be your best most creative, innovative, education selves and help us figure out how we keep this moving forward.
- ii. Budget reductions
  - i. We continue to be in a state of "pause and reflect"
  - ii. In addition to any lost revenues we are experiencing due to COVID over the course of last year and this year the state will have reduced or held back 9% (1% fall 2019, 2% base reduction per governor budget req and legislative appropriation, 1% holdback this spring, and another 5% reduction based on AY21 budget to be planned for). These are in addition to the structural budget deficit we have been dealing with, as noted during our various campus meetings, in excess of one million dollars
  - iii. To address the deficit we have left a number of positions vacant and continue to eliminate spending where possible. 8 positions were changed/cut as a response to the current need (RFP process) and many more positions were retained due to creative restructuring.
  - iv. If we receive relief from the legislature, it will be one-time funding.

### VI. e-Learning Presentation

- i. Enhancing face-to-face training
- ii. Universal Design to learning
- iii. Collaborate ultra-live lecture streaming
  - i. Recommended way to have online office hours and streaming
  - ii. embedded in the Blackboard course
  - iii. permits recording of sessions
- iv. Please reach out to us with questions

# VII. SBOE response to LCSC OER policy statement

- i. NIC has exactly copied our statement
- ii. The SBOE has been extremely supportive and receptive.

# VIII. Proposed changes to Policy 1.102 Operational Guidelines for Faculty Governance

- i. We would like to vote on the changes during our last meeting this semester.
- ii. Make sure to provide feedback to the faculty leadership and/or your senators

#### IX. Election of faculty chair/chair-elect

- a. Option: Retain Leif Hoffmann, Lorinda Hughes, and Jenni Light for one more year in their present positions of chair, chair-elect, and past chair
- b. Other nominations?

Motion to close the voting made by Harold Crook, one abstention, consensus of votes was to retain Leif Hoffmann, Lorinda Hughes, and Jenni Light for one more year in the present positions.

#### X. Good of the Order

- i. Discussion about phased retirement and the possibility of implementation. Feedback or ideas can be brought to the President, or her administrative assistant.
- ii. Opportunity for a second dependent to receive tuition remission has been approved.

iii. J.R. Kok: The challenges facing faculty and staff are quite different. We should consider being a part of a unified front, always considering and supporting each other.

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 4:48pm made by Harold Crook, no abstentions