Reid Centennial Hall Clock tower

News Release

LCSC Alumni Association Awards Celebration Is April 30

The Lewis-Clark State College Alumni Association will hold its annual Alumni Awards Celebration on Tuesday, April 30 at Jazzy's at Towne Square, located at 1303 Main St. in Lewiston.
The evening begins at 6 p.m. with a social, followed by awards presentations at 6:30, and live jazz at 7:30 p.m. The event is free and open to the public, but those planning to attend are asked to RSVP to the LCSC Alumni Relations Office at (208) 792-2151 or email [email protected]
Each year the Alumni Associations honors individuals, both LCSC alums and non-alums, who have made an impact at LCSC or in the community.
This year's winners include Jamie Olson, Executive Officer, Nez Perce Tribal Enterprises, as Alumna of the Year. This award is presented to alums who have enriched the lives of others through their generous gifts of time and talent, their involvement with civic, charitable and social causes, and their ability to inspire.
The Marion Shinn Lifelong Achievement Award recognizes alumni who have made outstanding contributions to the college and community through long-term dedication and service. This year's winner is Phil Shinn, Lewiston City Forester.
There are two recipients of the Aletha Pabst Award, which pays tribute to someone who is not alumni, but has made significant contributions to Lewis-Clark State College. Those awards go to Don & Joanne Poe, retired owners of Poe Asphalt, and Dick Riggs, retired Asotin-Anatone School District Superintendent.
The Rising Star Young Alumni Award recognizes significant contributions by an individual in their field of endeavor, whether through professional achievement or community service. The recipient is aged 40 or under and sets an inspirational example for future young alumni. This year's recipient is Lynette Sampson, Community Development Coordinator for the Southeastern Idaho Community Action Agency
Jim Poindexter, retired teacher and administrator with the Clarkston School District, is the winner of the Excellence in Education Award, which recognizes superior achievement in the field of education. The recipient serves as a role model and sets standards of excellence to which others can aspire.
The Spirit Award for Extraordinary Alumni Service award goes to Tate & Soo Lee Bruce-Smith. Tate is the Tech Prep Coordinator at LCSC and Soo Lee is the Director of LCSC New Student Recruitment.
This year's LCSC-Coeur d’Alene Alumni of the Year recipients will be recognized at LCSC-CDA's commencement ceremonies on Sunday, May 5. The recipients are Amy Knisely-Winstead, a police officer with the Coeur d'Alene Police Dept., and Mandi Yergler, a CPA with Core Accounting
For more information on the awards, contact Renee Olsen, Director of Alumni & Community Relations at either [email protected] or 208.792.2151.