Students on Campus

News Release

LCSC Alumni Awards Celebration is May 1

LEWISTON, Idaho - The Lewis-Clark State College Alumni Association will hold its annual Alumni Awards Celebration on Thursday, May 1 at the Clarkston Golf and Country Club, located at 1676 Elm Street in Clarkston.

The evening begins at 6 p.m. with a social, followed by award presentations at 6:30. The event is free and open to the public, but those planning to attend are asked to RSVP to the LCSC Office of Alumni Relations at (208) 792-2151 or [email protected]

Each year the Alumni Association honors individuals, both LCSC alums and non-alums, who have made an impact at LCSC or in the community.

This year’s winners include Alumna of the Year - Cally Grindstaff, Executive Officer, VP Corporate Relations/Organizational Development – Clear Springs Foods, Inc. in Buhl, Idaho and Alumnus of the Year - Jodi Johnson, Cardiac Neuro Nurse for the V.A. in Seattle. This award is presented to alums who have enriched the lives of others through their generous gifts of time and talent, their involvement with civic, charitable, and social causes, and their ability to inspire.

The Marion Shinn Lifelong Achievement Award recognizes alumni who have made outstanding contributions to the college and community through long-term dedication and service. This year’s winner is Mike Mitchell (retired), former SBOE member, former chief of staff for Governor Cecil Andrus, and former state legislator.

A. L.  (Butch) Alford, President of TPC Holdings, Inc., and former editor-publisher of the Lewiston Tribune, is the recipient of the Aletha Pabst Award, which pays tribute to someone who is not an alumnus, but has made significant contributions to Lewis-Clark State College.

The Rising Star Young Alumni Award recognizes significant contributions by individuals in their field of endeavor, whether through professional achievement or community service. The recipient is aged 40 or under and sets an inspirational example for future young alumni. This year’s recipients are Rising Star Alumna Award – Polly Jo Knelsen, Foundation Director, Tri-State Memorial Hospital in Clarkston and Rising Star Alumnus Award – Donald Montgomery, Financial Advisor, Waddell and Reed in Lewiston.

The Excellence in Education Award recognizes superior achievement in the field of education. The recipient serves as a role model and sets standards of excellence to which others can aspire.  The two recipients of this award are - Sharon Clizer, Director of Religious Education for Holy Family Catholic Church and retired principal at Holy Family Catholic School; and Bob Burrus (retired), former administrator, Clarkston School District.

The Spirit Award for Extraordinary Alumni Service goes to Denny Grubb, Letter Carrier, U.S. Postal Service and Kay Williams, LCSC Sodexo Food Services.

This year’s LCSC-Coeur d’Alene Alumni of the Year recipient will be recognized at LCSC-CDA’s commencement ceremonies on Sunday, May 4.  The recipient is Ashley Piaskowski, Patient Outreach and Enrollment Coordinator for Heritage Health in CDA.

For more information on the awards, contact Renee Olsen, Director of Alumni & Community Relations at either [email protected] or (208) 792-2151.