Photo of Talkington hall on LC State campus

News Release

LCSC Alumni Awards Celebration is May 6

LEWISTON, Idaho – The Lewis-Clark State College Alumni Association will hold its annual Alumni Awards Celebration on Wednesday, May 6, at the Clarkston Golf and Country Club, located at 1676 Elm Street in Clarkston.

The evening begins at 6 p.m. with a social, followed by award presentations at 6:30. The event is free and open to the public, but those planning to attend are asked to RSVP to the LCSC Office of Alumni Relations at 208.792.2151 or [email protected].

Each year the Alumni Association honors individuals, both LCSC alums and non-alums, who have made an impact at LCSC or in the community.

This year’s recipients include Alumna of the Year Jill Balmer, Care Management Director at St. Joseph Regional Medical Center, and Alumnus of the Year Dr. Andrew Hanson, Vice President of Student Affairs at LCSC. This award is presented to alums who have enriched the lives of others through their generous gifts of time and talent, their involvement with civic, charitable, and social causes, and their ability to inspire.

The Marion Shinn Lifelong Achievement Award recognizes alumni who have made outstanding contributions to the college and community through long-term dedication and service. This year’s recipient is Steve Branting, a retired educator, local historian, and author.

Eadie Saxton, retired, and Willard Teel (posthumously) are the recipients of the Aletha Pabst Award, which pays tribute to someone who is not an alumnus, but has made significant contributions to Lewis-Clark State College.

The Rising Star Young Alumni Award recognizes significant contributions by individuals in their field of endeavor, whether through professional achievement or community service. The recipient is aged 40 or under and sets an inspirational example for future young alumni. This year’s recipients are Dave and Tami Biery, owners of Peak Physical Therapy, and Dr. Seth Haselhuhn, Cognitive Enhancement Specialist for the 5th Special Forces Group (Airborne) in Fort Campbell, Kentucky.

The Excellence in Education Award recognizes superior achievement in the field of education. The recipient serves as a role model and sets standards of excellence to which others can aspire.  The recipient of this year’s award is Mark Smith, Professor of HVAC & Appliance Technology at LCSC.

The Spirit Award for Extraordinary Alumni Service is presented to individuals that build pride and spirit on campus and who consistently demonstrate extraordinary loyalty, commitment, dedication and service to LCSC and the community. This year’s recipients are Monika Pande, Catering & Concessions Supervisor at Sodexo Dining Services, and Bob Sobotta, Jr., Director of American/Minority Student Services at LCSC.

This year’s LCSC-Coeur d’Alene Alumni of the Year recipient will be recognized at LCSC-CDA’s commencement ceremony on Sunday, May 3. The recipient is Steve Roberge, District Manager at Waste Management of Idaho in CDA.

For more information on the awards, contact Renee Olsen, Director of Alumni & Community Relations, at either [email protected] or 208.792.2151.