Clock tower of reid centennial hall

News Release

Outstanding Educator Award created at LCSC

LEWISTON, Idaho – The Lewis-Clark State College Teacher Education Program is starting a new program this fall called the Outstanding Educator Award Program.

“The Outstanding Educator Award was created to recognize individuals for their contributions to education,” said Dr. Heather Van Mullem, chair of LCSC's Division of Education and Kinesiology.  “They are individuals who have provided outstanding service to the cause of education through their dedication, creativity, initiative, service, inspiration, and contribution to the improvement of education.”

Van Mullem said nominations are not limited to teachers and may include administrators, para-professionals, aides, secretaries, custodians, food service employees, playground monitors, crossing guards, etc.  Nominations are welcome from P-12 students only.

The Outstanding Educator Award is decided by a selection committee composed of members of the Lewis-Clark State College Teacher Education Program faculty and representatives from elementary, middle/junior, and secondary schools represented in school districts in and surrounding Regions I and II.

The committee is made up of:

•           LCSC Elementary Program Coordinator

•           LCSC Secondary Program Coordinator

•           Elementary school (P-8) representative from Idaho (Region I or II) or Washington school district

•           Middle/junior high school (6-8) representative from Idaho (Region I or II) or Washington school district

•           Secondary school (6-12) representative from Idaho (Region I or II) or Washington school district

Idaho Region I school districts are St. Maries, Plummer/Worley, West Bonner County, Lake Pend Oreille, Boundary County, Coeur d’Alene, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, Lakeland, Post Falls, Kootenai, Kellogg, Mullan, Wallace, Avery, Kootenai Bridge Academy, North Idaho Stem Charter Academy, and Forrest M. Bird Charter Academy.

Idaho Region II school districts are Orofino, Cottonwood, Moscow, Genesee, Kendrick, Potlatch, Whitepine, Troy, Nezperce, Kamiah, Highland, Lewiston, Lapwai, Culdesac, Idaho Distance Learning Academy, Salmon River, and Mountain View.

Washington school districts eligible for the program are Asotin and Clarkston.

Two (fall and spring) awards will be given each academic year based upon the following calendar:

•           Fall award: Nominations accepted September-November.  Award (plaque) presented in a December school assembly.

•           Spring award: Nominations accepted March-May.  Award (plaque) presented in a June school assembly.

A student may nominate an outstanding educator by completing a nomination form and submitting it to a designated mail or email address.

The application form can be found on the LCSC Education and Kinesiology Division website at  . The deadline for nominations for this fall is November 15.

For more information, please contact Dr. Heather Van Mullem at [email protected] or 208.792.2781