LC State Campus

News Release

LCSC Foundation distributes over $400K in scholarships; honors faculty excellence

LEWISTON, Idaho – The Lewis-Clark State College Foundation distributed $401,843 in scholarship funds to students during the 2014-15 academic year, it was announced at the Foundation’s annual meeting on Thursday. Also at the meeting, the Foundation Board of Directors recognized LCSC’s Faculty and Staff Awards winners and introduced two new board members in Katie Seekins and Dawn Wittman.

“We appreciate the help and support the Foundation gives to our students and faculty,” LCSC President J. Anthony Fernandez said. “Without the generous support of the Foundation, LCSC would not be the successful college that it is.”

Established in 1984 as a non-profit educational foundation, the LCSC Foundation secures resources beyond those provided through state funding and looks to assure an educational experience that is more financially accessible to students, as well as one which is more well-rounded and complete.

Wittman joins the board after retiring from her post as the director of the Lewiston City Library. Seekins is co-owner with her husband Glen Seekins, an LCSC alumnus, of Seekins Precision in Lewiston.

“The LCSC Foundation is humbled by the generosity of individual donors and corporate partners who are committed to change the lives of our students, staff and faculty,” said Foundation Executive Director Erika Allen. “We are excited to offer numerous scholarships to deserving students and awards to stellar faculty who strive for excellence.”

The Foundation currently provides financial support for a number of enhancement activities including the Foundation Scholars Program, scholarships, and other activities and programs that lie outside the traditional role of public funding. It also plays a central role in LCSC’s Faculty Achievement Awards, announced annually at the Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon in April. A complete list of this year’s award winners is below.

For more information about the Lewis-Clark State College Foundation visit its website at or call 208-792-2457.

2015 LCSC Faculty and Staff Awards 

Professional Staff Award
Gregory Pearce, Natural Sciences & Mathematics Division

Classified Employee of the Year
Geralyn Seale, Business Division

Adjunct Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence
Diana Brown, Business Division

President's Award for Excellence in Diversity & Cross-Cultural Understanding
Eleanor Downey, Social Sciences Division

President’s Award for Outstanding Teaching
Paul Buckley, Natural Sciences & Mathematics Division
Marilyn Heckendorn, Nursing & Health Sciences Division
Leanne Parker, Social Sciences Division

LCSC Foundation Award
Amy Canfield, Social Sciences Division

Don and Joanne Poe Faculty Excellence Award
Cliff Matousek, Education & Kinesiology Division

H.L. Talkington Faculty Achievement Award
Tracy Flynn, Nursing & Health Sciences