LC State Campus

News Release

LCSC Foundation distributes over $800K in scholarships; honors faculty excellence

LEWISTON, Idaho – The Lewis-Clark State College Foundation awarded $853,878 in scholarships and distributions to students during the 2016-17 academic year, it was announced at the Foundation’s Scholarship Luncheon on Tuesday. The Foundation also honored a number of individuals at LCSC’s Faculty & Staff Recognition Luncheon on Friday.

“We appreciate the help and support the Foundation gives to our students and faculty,” LCSC President J. Anthony Fernandez said. “Without the generous support of the Foundation, LCSC would not be the successful college that it is.”

Established in 1984 as a non-profit educational foundation, the LCSC Foundation secures resources beyond those provided through state funding and looks to assure an educational experience that is more financially accessible to students, as well as one which is more well-rounded and complete.

“The LCSC Foundation is humbled by the generosity of individual donors and corporate partners who are committed to change the lives of our students, staff and faculty,” said Foundation Executive Director Erika Allen. “We are excited to offer numerous scholarships to deserving students and awards to stellar faculty who strive for excellence.”

The Foundation currently provides financial support for a number of enhancement activities including the Foundation Scholars Program, scholarships, and other activities and programs that lie outside the traditional role of public funding. It also plays a central role in LCSC’s faculty achievement awards, announced annually at the school’s Faculty & Staff Recognition Luncheon in April. A complete list of this year’s award winners is below.

For more information about the Lewis-Clark State College Foundation visit its website at or call 208-792-2457.

2017 LCSC Faculty & Staff Awards

Professional Staff Award for Excellence
Logan Fowler, Director of College Communications

Classified Staff of the Year Award
Sharon Auer, Humanities Division

President's Award for Excellence in Diversity & Cross-Cultural Understanding
Colleen Mahoney, Foundation Board of Directors

Adjunct Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence
Judge Carl Kerrick, Second Judicial District of Idaho

President’s Award for Outstanding Teaching
Debbie Goodwin, Business Division
Jay Kimble, Technical & Industrial Division
Angela Wartel, Social Sciences Division

Cameron & Marilyn Hinman LCSC Employee Excellence Award
Mary Flores, Dean for Academic Programs

Annice Edmundson Faculty Excellence Award
Kerensa Allison, Social Sciences Division

LCSC Foundation Award
Louis Sylvester, Humanities Division

Fernandez Faculty Excellence Award
Ella-Mae Keatts, Nursing & Health Sciences Division

H.L. Talkington Faculty Achievement Award
Vonda Mulrony, Business Technology & Service Division

Photo: President Fernandez poses with scholarship recipients at 2017 luncheon