Photo of Talkington hall on LC State campus

News Release

LCSC Alumni Association to honor award winners on Oct. 19 at CG&CC

LEWISTON, Idaho – Glen Seekins, owner of Seekins Precision in Lewiston, has been named the Lewis-Clark State College Alumni Association’s Alumni of the Year for 2017 and will be honored at the Alumni Awards Celebration at the Clarkston Golf and Country Club, 1676 Elm Street, on Oct. 19.

Seekins is one of eight individuals who will be honored during the evening.

The event will begin with a 6 p.m. social, followed by the awards ceremony at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are $10 per person, but each honoree receives six tickets.

Each year the Alumni Association honors individuals, both LCSC alums and non-alums, who have made an impact at the college or in the community. Included in this year’s honorees is recently retired athletic director Gary Picone, who will receive the Marion Shinn Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the college.

The 2017 winners are listed below with their place of employment listed in parentheses.

Alumni of the Year Award – Glen Seekins (owner, Seekins Precision)

Marion Shinn Lifetime Achievement Award – Gary Picone (retired LCSC athletic director)

Rising Star Young Alumna Award – Angela Meek (senior instructional designer for e-Learning, LCSC)

Rising Star Young Alumnus Award – Clay Long (district administrator for career and technical education, Nampa School District)

David Walker Spirit Award – Janis VanHook (retired, LCSC).

Althea Pabst Award – Kai Fong (tennis coach, LCSC)

Excellence in Education Award – Krista Harwick (Nursing & Health Sciences Division Chair, LCSC) and Steve Higgins (Superintendent of Schools, Kamiah School District).

For more information on the awards, the winners, or the event, contact Director of Alumni & Community Relations Renee Olsen at [email protected] or 208-792-2151.