LC State Campus

News Release

State Board announces LCSC presidential search process

LEWISTON, Idaho -- The Idaho State Board of Education’s search for the next president of Lewis-Clark State College will begin in November of 2017 and end with a final selection in April of 2018, the State Board announced on Thursday. The new president will succeed current LCSC President J. Anthony (Tony) Fernandez, who recently announced that he will retire effective June 17, 2018.

The State Board will use the Association of Governing Boards (AGB) to assist with the search process. In addition to support from AGB, the State Board will rely on a local search committee to make a recommendation of final candidates, from which the State Board will make its selection. State Board member Don Soltman will chair the search committee and be joined by fellow State Board member Debbie Critchfield. The search committee is comprised of representatives of local stakeholder groups, including LCSC faculty, staff, students, alumni, the LCSC Foundation, and the community.

Several milestones mark the six-month search process.

November 13-15, 2017: AGB search consultants will hold several in-person listening sessions with LCSC stakeholder groups to hear input regarding the qualities and characteristics that should be included in the job description and announcement. Specific dates, times, and locations are being finalized and will be announced.

December 8, 2017: The search will be opened, and candidates will be able to submit materials. Employment postings developed with input from the listening sessions will be published nationally.

February 2018: The application process will be closed. The search committee will review all applicant qualifications and select a candidate group for initial interviews in February.

March 2018: After initial interviews, the candidate pool will be reduced and due diligence completed on the remaining candidates. Campus visits will be scheduled for candidates, followed by a recommendation of finalist candidates for the State Board to consider.

April 2018: The State Board will interview finalist candidates and make a selection.

Lewis-Clark State College President Search Committee:
Don Soltman (chair), Idaho State Board of Education
Debbie Critchfield, Idaho State Board of Education
Lori Stinson, LCSC provost
AJ Baron, LCSC student representative
Liz Chavez, LCSC Foundation representative
Senator Dan Johnson, community representative
Carrie Kyser, LCSC professional staff representative
Mark Maland, LCSC classified staff representative
Darcy Nelly, LCSC alumni representative
Rocky Owens, LCSC-Coeur d’Alene campus representative
Bill Picard, community representative
Ed Schweitzer, community representative
Amanda Van Lanen, LCSC faculty representative

The State Board of Education is charged with the general supervision and governance of the public educational institutions and the public school system of the State of Idaho. To learn more about the Idaho State Board of Education, please visit