Reid Centennial Hall Clock tower building

News Release

LCSC announces annual faculty, staff awards

LEWISTON, Idaho – Lewis-Clark State College faculty and staff as well as a pair of community members were honored at the college’s Faculty & Staff Recognition Luncheon on Friday.

The event, which is organized by the Office of the Provost with strong support from the LCSC Foundation, honored 15 individuals with awards. Nez Perce tribal elders Bessie Scott and Florene Davis were named the 2018 recipients of the President's Award for Excellence in Diversity & Cross-Cultural Understanding for their support of LCSC’s Nez Perce language program.

(L-R: Bessie Scott, Florene Davis, President Fernandez)

Those retiring from LCSC were also recognized at the luncheon, including President J. Anthony Fernandez. His 15 years of service to the college, including eight as president, were honored with a short tribute video.

Other retirees include, in alphabetical order, Harold Adkins (12 years), Henrik Brosten (15), Cathy Corker (7), Eleanor Downey (11), Okey Goode (34), Denise Harris (27), Delta Heath-Simpson (25), Don Heath-Simpson (39), David Massaro (16), Meleah McCulley (4), and Verna Studer (30).

The full list of awards is shown below.

2018 LCSC Faculty & Staff Awards 

Professional Staff Award for Excellence
Courtney Toth, Information Technology Help Desk Manager

Classified Staff of the Year Award
James Nave, Information Technology Support Technician

President's Award for Excellence in Diversity & Cross-Cultural Understanding
Bessie Scott, Nez Perce Tribe Elder
Florene Davis, Nez Perce Tribe Elder

Adjunct Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence
Rebecca Parks, Adult Learning Center / Business Technology & Service Division

President’s Award for Outstanding Teaching
Kacey Diemert, Natural Sciences & Mathematics Division
Rebecca Snider, Business Technology & Service Division
Gwen Sullivan, Humanities Division

Cameron & Marilyn Hinman LCSC Employee Excellence Award
Leif Hoffmann, Social Sciences Division

Annice Edmundson Faculty Excellence Award
Vicky Boubel, Nursing & Health Sciences Division
Peter Remien, Humanities Division
Rachelle Genthos, Social Sciences Division

LCSC Foundation Award
LaChelle Rosenbaum, Social Sciences Division

Fernandez Faculty Excellence Award
David Massaro, Teacher Education Division

H.L. Talkington Faculty Achievement Award
Henrik Brosten, Technical & Industrial Division