LC State Campus

News Release

LC State Alumni Awards Celebration on Oct. 2 will honor McKee, Frei and others

LEWISTON, Idaho –  Stuart McKee, Chief Technology Officer for State and Local Governments in the United States for Microsoft Corporation, and Christine Frei, Executive Director of the Clearwater Economic Development Association (CEDA), have been named the Lewis-Clark State College Alumni Association’s Alumni of the Year for 2019 and will be honored at the Alumni Awards Celebration on Oct. 2 at the LCSC Center for Arts & History, located at 415 Main St. in Lewiston.

The event begins with a 6 p.m. social, followed by the awards presentation at 6:30 p.m. In all, nine awards will be presented that night. Tickets are $10 per person and are available online at by clicking on the red “register here” button or by calling 208-792-2458.

McKee moved to Lewiston in the late 1980s while his mother was working as the director of surgery at St. Joseph Regional Medical Center. He enrolled at LC State in the business administration/management accounting program and graduated in 1992.  He earned his graduate degree at Gonzaga in Spokane.

McKee worked for a few companies, including Walt Disney, before he became the executive director of the Washington State Department of Information Services on then-Gov. Gary Locke’s executive cabinet. McKee joined Microsoft as the first U.S. Technology Officer in June of 2004.

Frei is a 1995 graduate of LC State and serves on the Business Division’s Lewiston Advisory Council. With CEDA, Frei works with regional leaders and staff to develop and implement strategies  for economic diversification, community development, and increased prosperity in Latah, Nez Perce, Lewis, Clearwater, and Idaho counties in Idaho.

Frei has 18 years of experience in planning and implementation and helping businesses and communities access needed resources. Since 2003, CEDA has been active with partners to promote increased broadband accessibility. She is a certified Professional Community and Economic Developer (PCEP) and grant administrator.

The awards McKee and Frei will receive honor alums who have enriched the lives of others through their generous gifts of time and talent, their involvement with civic, charitable and social causes, and their ability to inspire.

Each year, the LC State Alumni Association honors individuals, both alums and non-alums, who have made an impact at the college or in the community.

Lewiston attorney Charles (Chuck) Brown will receive the Marion Shinn Lifelong Achievement Award. Brown is a 1977 graduate of LCSC and played on the basketball team at the college. The award recognizes outstanding contributions of an alum who has shown long-term dedication to the college and community.

The 2019 winners are listed below with their place of employment listed in parentheses.

Alumni of the Year Award -  Stuart McKee (Chief Technology Officer for State and Local Governments in the United States, Microsoft Corp.), and Christine Frei (Executive Director of the Clearwater Economic Development Association).

Marion Shinn Lifelong Achievement Award - Charles (Chuck) Brown, (attorney).

Rising Star Young Alumnae Award – Pasang Sherpa, 2007 graduate (visiting professor at Pacific Lutheran University and affiliated with the South Asia Center at the University of Washington) and Tara Lynn Taylor 2012 (Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Muckleshoot Tribe’s Behavioral Health Program).

Aletha Pabst Award – Chris Loseth (President and CEO, Potlatch No. 1 Financial Credit Union).

Excellence in Education Award – Jill Thomas-Jorgenson, 1979 graduate (associate professor, Business Division, LC State); and Roland (Rollie) Hallen, 1986 graduate (instructor, Natural Sciences, LC State).

Spirit Award – Kathy Martin (retired Dean of Community Programs and Governmental Relations at LC State).