Spalding Hall building

News Release

LC State expects fourth largest graduating class in school history

Virtual commencement to be held May 15

LEWISTON, Idaho – With 806 students expected to graduate this year, Lewis-Clark State College will celebrate its fourth largest graduating class in school history when it holds its virtual commencement ceremony on Friday, May 15, at 2 p.m.

Despite innumerable challenges related to COVID-19 this spring, the expected number of graduates is on par with LC State’s record totals of the past few years. Last year 889 students graduated, a school record of 950 was set in 2018, and in 2017 a total of 824 graduated.

“The fact that so many Warriors are graduating this year is a testament to the perseverance of our students, to the exceptional support provided by our staff, and to the expert and individualized instruction of our faculty,” LC State President Cynthia Pemberton said. “COVID-19 posed a definite challenge to everyone this semester, but we promised our students we would put their safety first and also provide a way to get to the finish line. I could not be prouder of our faculty and staff, and especially of these outstanding graduates.”

Spring semester challenges included the transition of all courses, along with student support services, to distance delivery on March 18. Next week all finals will be completed via distance delivery.

The virtual commencement ceremony will premiere on LC State's Facebook page: It will include messages from Gov. Brad Little and the Idaho State Board of Education, addresses by Pemberton and ASLCSC student body president Kason Seward from the Silverthorne Theatre, and a video presentation displaying photos of this year's graduates.

The ceremony will also honor retiring emeritus faculty members Mary Flores, Adena Hibbard and Claire Davis along with the announcing of student awards. Erin Sieverding will receive the Gertrude Mellen Dick Award, given to the student with the highest cumulative GPA for four years of undergraduate work; JeaDa Lay will receive the President’s Award for outstanding contributions to the college; and Molly Jacobs will be the recipient of the Provost’s Award, given to a high achieving LC State Coeur d’Alene graduate.

More details regarding the ceremony are available at As previously announced, 2020 graduates are invited to take part in the 2021 ceremony as well.