LC State campus

News Release

LC State to hold Trauma and Resilience Symposium on April 22

LEWISTON, Idaho – The annual Lewis-Clark State College Trauma and Resilience Symposium will be held on April 22 live on YouTube Stream.

The event will take place at 8:50 a.m.-2 p.m. and is free and open to the campus and public. For those wanting to use the event for Continuing Education Unit certification or district approved in-service training certification, the cost is $25.

The symposium features a variety of topics and speakers. The keynote speaker at 1-2 p.m. is J. Luke Wood, vice president of Student Affairs & Campus Diversity at San Diego State University. Wood, a Dean’s Distinguished Professor of Education at SDSU, will discuss Racelighting, which refers to the process whereby people of color question their own thoughts and actions because of their experiences with racism.

Lucilla Mendoza, Rebecca Lehman and Ryan Oatman, all licensed social workers in Idaho and Washington, will kick off the symposium with “Healing in Native Communities” at 9-9:50 a.m., followed by Tai Simpson’s talk on “Whose America? Who’s America?” at 10-10:50 a.m. Simpson is a member of the Nez Perce Tribe and lives in Boise. She is a direct descendent of Chief Redheart.

Katie McPherson, a licensed social worker residing in Moscow as a therapist who specializes in Abuse Survivors Therapy, will talk about “Ethics in Reunification (Ethics training for Social Work)” at 11-11:50 a.m. Also at that time, there will be a workshop on many faces (and personalities) of teachers and the impact on students. The speaker for the workshop is Christina Brando-Subis, an assistant professor in literacy and the local elementary/secondary program coordinator at LC State.

After a lunch break, Wood will give the keynote address.

To register for the online event or for more information, contact Christina Brando-Subis, who co-chairs the symposium with Lauren Nichols, at [email protected].

The symposium is sponsored by the LC State Social Work Program, the Student Organization of Social Workers, the LC State Teacher Education & Mathematics Division, and the LC State Institutional Development Grant.