H.L. Talkington Faculty Achievement Award

The Talkington Achievement Award recognizes the tradition of teaching excellence as exemplified by the career of H. L. Talkington, who came to Lewiston State Normal School in 1899 and was an outstanding instructor here for 40 years. He was the first school librarian, was active in committee assignments, and wrote dozens of publications on Idaho and Pacific Northwest history.


Regular full-time faculty members who have taught at the college for at least three years. Award recipients are ineligible for the year immediately following their award. Please contact the Provost's Office at [email protected] if you question a nominee’s eligibility.


Nomination packets must include: demonstrated significant and meritorious achievements in teaching; Evidence of high standards with regard to the rigor and currency of course content, as well as the level of student performance with respect to these standards; Measures of direct impact upon student learning, and evidence of a spirit of academic collegiality. The record of performance should emphasize the current academic year.


Nominations are to be submitted to the Provost Office, and must include at least three letters of support from colleagues, faculty, administrators or students. A copy of the fall semester student course evaluation results would be helpful. Nomination packets will be reviewed by a committee of five faculty, appointed by the Faculty Association chair. The chair of the selection committee will be the past year’s award recipient.

Past Recipients

2023Leif Hoffman
2022Amy Canfield
2021No Award
2020No Award
2019Rachelle Genthos
2018Henrik Brosten
2017Vonda Mulrony
2016Eleanor Downey
2015Tracey Flynn
2014Dan Mayton
2013Andy Dahlquist
2012Gwen Taylor
2011Harold Crook
2010Alan Marshall
2009Jane Finan
2008Clay Robinson
2007Matthew Johnston
2006Ella-Mae Keatts
2005Christopher Norden
Masoud Kazemi
2003Kathie Wilcox
2002Dan Mayton
2001Tom Urquhart
2000Betsy VanClief
1999Michael A. Hill
1998Scott Linneman
1997Gene Straughan
1996Alice Bevans
1995Okey Goode
1994Patricia Keith and Burlington Northern
1993Mary Flores
1992Cheryl Granby
1991Rhett Diessner
1990Okey Goode
1989Okey Goode
1988Barbara McNeil
1987Shirlee Hennigan
1986David Sears