President's Award for Outstanding Teaching


Faculty members as defined by the Faculty Association Constitution. Adjunct faculty and Division Chairs are not eligible. There may be no more than one awardee per division per biennium. Please contact the Provost's Office at [email protected] if you question a nominee’s eligibility.


Effectiveness of teaching, quality of scholarly or creative activities, and level of service to college or community. Definitions of teaching, scholarship, and service are consistent with those employed for consideration of tenure and promotion.


The Council of Division Chairs is the awards committee. Each Division nominates, through the division chair, one eligible faculty member. Nominations from each division should be in writing and address the criteria. Chairpersons advocate their respective nominees to the awards committee. The committee votes, each chairperson casting as many votes as there are awards to be given.  Winners are established by plurality; tie votes are re-voted until the tie is resolved.

Past Recipients

2023Teresa Nash, Seth Bradshaw, Christina Brando-Subis
2022Kylee Britzman, Lorinda Hughes, Lloyd Mataka
2021Lonny Gehring, Spencer Payton, Rachel Kaitz
2020Julie Bezzerides, Rodney Farrington and Jennifer Gardner
2019Michelle Pearson-Smith, Eric Martin and Christa Davis
2018Kacey Diemert, Rebecca Snider and Gwen Sullivan
2017Deborah Goodwin, Jay Kimble and Angela Wartel
2016Roddran Grimes, Kate Flower and H. Marlowe Daly-Galeano
2015Paul Buckley, Marilyn Heckendorn and Leanne Parker
2014Clay Robinson, David Wiseman and Jason Blazzard
2013Scott Wimer, Heather-Henson Ramsey and Teresa Nash
2012Heather VanMullem, Robert Thorson and Misty Urban
2011Laura Earles, Debbie Lemon and Diane Driskill
2010Cliff Matousek, Keegan Schmidt and Michelle Sotka
2009Ray Esparsen, Brian Fonnesbeck and Lori McCann
2008Debbie Goodwin, Don Heath-Simpson and David Massaro
2007Jacob Hornby, Susan Odom and J.R. Seaman
2006Teri Rust, Delta Heath-Simpson and Verna Studer
2005Matthew Brady, Christopher Riggs and James Tarter
2004Wayne Carroll, John Haehl and Barbara Barnes
2003Matthew Johnston, Lori Stinson and Rhonda Combs
2002Mike Bradley, Lana Elliott and Patricia Keith
2001Gene Straughan, Jane Finan and Beth Hewes
2000Jennifer Ashby, Gary Mayton and Mary Flores
Sean Cassidy, Mary Lou Robinson and Alan Marshall
1998Ed Miller, Gwen Taylor and Nancy Swanger
1997Marilyn Levine, Gretchen Dimico and Bill Kramer
1996Katherine Baker, Mary Lou Robinson and Carl Brood
1995Kurt Torell, Carol Matney and Stacey Merrigan
1994Scott Linneman, Joseph Aiyeku and Bill O'Kelley
1993Tom Urquhart, Gary Mayton and Nina Woods
1992Shirlee Hennigan, Joan Gilmore and Mark Smith
1991Jerry Jolley, Alice Bevans and Clint Glover
1990Mary Flores, Rhett Diessner and Bob Vail
1989Mary Blew, Gerald Ramey and Lynn White
1988Brent Bradberry, Ehsan Salek and Beverly Bowen
1987Steve Evans, Marvin DeLuga and Marge Stout